What Is Vaginal Dryness?

Vaginal dryness is a common problem experienced by up to one in three women, particularly those who are going through menopause or those who experience early menopause symptoms. The female sex hormone estrogen is responsible for maintaining your natural lubricant. When your estrogen levels decrease you are more likely to experience vaginal dryness.

Normally, glands in your cervix produce a natural lubricant that keeps your vagina moist. This natural lubricant travels down your vagina, which helps to maintain a clean and healthy environment. A small amount of white discharge is a healthy sign – your vagina is naturally well lubricated and keeping itself clean.

Symptoms can include:

  • Burning, soreness or pain inside the vagina or the lower vagina
  • Itching, burning or soreness around the entrance to your vagina (vulva)
  • Pain during sex, sometimes accompanied by light bleeding
  • Recurring urinary tract infections
  • Frequent need or urge to urinate

When to visit your doctor

If vaginal dryness is interfering with your lifestyle, relationships or sex life, talk to your doctor about your symptoms to get the right treatment – vaginal dryness doesn’t have to hinder your daily life at any age

Menopause

Menopause is the name for the time when women stop ovulating, and therefore stop having periods or the ability to get pregnant. The average age for menopause is 51, but some women may experience it earlier or later.

Menopause happens because your estrogen levels naturally decrease. Estrogen normally controls your periods, so that’s why your periods end when you reach menopause. With less estrogen in your body your vaginal walls become thinner and you naturally produce less lubricant in your cervix. Therefore it’s completely natural for your body to change and for you to experience vaginal dryness.

If you’re not experiencing symptoms of menopause, vaginal dryness may occur because:

  • During foreplay or sex you’re not sexually aroused
  • You’re using perfumed products in or around your vagina, including regular soaps or body washes
  • You’re taking anti-depressants or other medication
  • You’re taking the contraceptive pill
  • You’re breastfeeding and have low levels of estrogen
  • You’ve had a hysterectomy
  • You’ve had chemotherapy

If you plan to visit your doctor to discuss vaginal dryness, think about the affecting factors above and whether they are relevant to you in order for your doctor to best be able to help treat your vaginal dryness.

Qu’est-ce que la sécheresse vaginale?

La sécheresse vaginale est un problème courant qui touche jusqu’à une femme sur trois, en particulier celles qui traversent la ménopause ou qui présentent des symptômes d’une ménopause précoce . L’œstrogène, une hormone sexuelle féminine, est responsable du maintien de la lubrification naturelle des parties intimes; lorsque ses concentrations diminuent, la femme est plus susceptible d’éprouver une sécheresse vaginale.

En temps normal, les glandes situées dans le col utérin produisent un lubrifiant naturel qui garde le vagin humide. Ce lubrifiant naturel s’écoule le long du vagin, ce qui contribue à maintenir un environnement propre et sain. La présence de petites pertes blanches est signe d’une bonne santé; cela signifie que le vagin est naturellement bien lubrifié et qu’il continue à s’occuper de sa propreté.

Ménopause

La ménopause est le terme qui désigne la période entourant le moment où les femmes cessent d’ovuler, et donc d’avoir leurs règles ou la capacité de tomber enceinte. L’âge moyen de survenue de la ménopause est 51 ans, mais certaines femmes peuvent la vivre plus tôt ou plus tard.

La cause de la ménopause est la baisse naturelle des concentrations d’œstrogène. Cette hormone s’occupe en temps normal de réguler les règles, c’est pourquoi celles-ci cessent à la ménopause. Comme il y a moins d’œstrogène dans l’organisme, les parois vaginales deviennent plus minces et le col utérin produit naturellement moins de lubrifiant. Par conséquent, il est tout à fait naturel que le corps subisse des changements et qu’une sécheresse vaginale apparaisse.

Autres causes possibles de sécheresse vaginale en l’absence d’autres symptômes de la ménopause:

  • Les préliminaires amoureux ou les relations sexuelles ne vous excitent pas sexuellement
  • Vous utilisez des produits parfumés, y compris des savons ou des gels nettoyants réguliers, dans votre vagin ou alentour de celui-ci
  • Vous prenez des antidépresseurs ou d’autres médicaments
  • Vous prenez la pilule contraceptive
  • Vous allaitez et avez de faibles concentrations d’œstrogène
  • Vous avez subi une hystérectomie
  • Vous suivez ou avez suivi une chimiothérapie

Si vous prévoyez visiter votre médecin pour discuter de votre sécheresse vaginale, réfléchissez aux facteurs contributifs présentés ci-dessus qui pourraient s’appliquer à vous afin d’aider le plus possible votre médecin à bien traiter votre sécheresse vaginale.